

State of Idaho Strategic Energy Alliance Board of Directors Meeting

Date: Thursday, February 10, 2022 **Time:** 10:00 AM to 11:00 AM

Location: Virtual Meeting on Microsoft Teams

Participants:

ISEA Board Members

Eric Anderson, Idaho Public Utilities Commission – Vice Chair Alan Prouty, J.R. Simplot Company Dick Garlish, Rocky Mountain Power Jared Ellsworth, Idaho Power Company Tim Frost, Idaho Division of Building Safety Will Hart, Idaho Consumer-Owned Utilities Association Lori Blattner, Intermountain Gas Greg Green, Micron Bear Prairie, Idaho Falls Power

Others

Courtney White, Clean Energy Opportunities for Idaho Lisa Young, Idaho Chapter Sierra Club Lori Wolff, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources George Lynch, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources Marissa Warren, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources Emily Her, Idaho Governor's Office of Energy and Mineral Resources

Meeting Agenda

Welcome/Approval of Previous Meeting Minutes

Will Hart motions to approve the minutes. The motion carries.

Introduction of new ISEA Board of Directors Members

Eric Anderson assumes former Vice-Chair Kjellander's role. Tim Frost replaces Ron Whitney of DOPL. Dick Garlish replaces Jon Cox of Rocky Mountain Power. OEMR has not yet replaced John Chatburn.

Recent Publications Discussion

OEMR recently released the 2022 Idaho Energy Landscape and 2022 Idaho Energy Security Plan. The 2022 Idaho Energy Security Plan replaces the 2012 Idaho Energy Assurance Plan.

Task Force Update

There are three active task forces: Utility-scale Storage, Alternative Fuels Transportation, and Resiliency and Reliability.

- The Utility-scale Storage Task Force is chaired by Dr. Eric Dufek of INL and is staffed by Emily Her. This task force is on-time to complete their report by summer.
- The Alternative Transportation Fuels Task Force is chaired by Dr. John Smart of INL and is staffed by Alexa Sakolsky-Basquill. This task force is delayed due to data collection and the expected release is scheduled for fall.
- The Reliability and Resiliency Task Force is chaired by Dr. Ning Kang of INL and is staffed by Marissa Warren. This task force recently completed the 2022 Energy Security Plan and is beginning to draft a report. This report will be released toward the end of 2022.
 - o Tim Frost: What will the task force be exploring in terms of siting and permitting?
 - OEMR: Members will look at timeframes for developing generation and transmission assets and analyze barriers. One challenge is trying to site transmission through a state that is primarily federal land-- it takes a long time. Industry experts along with INL will contribute to the report.
 - Jared Ellsworth: Is OEMR receiving enough support from the Board for these task forces?
 - OEMR: Yes. Please let me know if you would like to see a list of task force members.
 - Vice Chair Anderson requests lists of task force members.

IIJA Funding, Task Force Review

IIJA was signed on November 15th. There is a wide variety of provisions that the state could support. The state would like to collaborate and hear from as many stakeholders on what the most effective usage of these funds would be. OEMR would like to utilize ISEA to review provisions of IIJA and tell OEMR/the state on what we should support. This task force would be titled the ISEA "Energy Infrastructure Task Force" comprised of state agency staff, industry experts, other stakeholders.

• All members vote to approve the ISEA Energy Infrastructure Task Force.

Round Table Discussion on Topics of Interest

Will Hart: I echo the praise of the task force work. The representatives have been working hard on reports and OEMR has been a valuable tool for the Board members. This is excellent timing for the legislature.

Public Comment Period

No public comment.

Wrap up and Adjournment

Meeting formally adjourns at approximately 10:20 am.